• Meaning of Laa ilaha illallah

The testimony or the creed called as Shahadah or Shahadatain consists of two parts ie, Kalima-E-Tawheed (Allah’s Oneness) and Kalima-E-Risalat (Prophet Muhammad’s Messengerhood). This testament is a foundation for all other beliefs and practices in Islam. The first part of Shahadah is laa ilaha illal-lah which means that there is no deity worthy of being worshipped except Allah.

Common message of all the Prophets

It is the same message (laa ilaha illal-lah) conveyed by Aadam, Ibrahim (Abraham), Musa (Moses), ‘Eesa (Jesus) etc and finally to mankind until the Day of Resurrection by Prophet Muhammad (ﷺ), Qur’an.Surah Anbiya 21:25. This testimony is the key to Paradise. But there is no key except that it has ridges. If you come with the key that has the right ridges, the door will be open for you. Otherwise, it will not open for you. In order to achieve Paradise through this testimony, one must fulfill certain conditions that constitute the “right ridges” for this key statement (Fuzail bin Iyaaz, a tabieen) as mentioned in Tafseer Ibn e Katheer.


It is the declaration that represents the belief in the oneness of Allah (سبحانه و تعالى) (Tawheed). It is composed of negation and confirmation phrases. The first part of testimony (laa ilaha illallah) comprises of two pillars: Pillar of Denial and Pillar of Affirmation.

Denial: Laa Ilaha

‘There is no (true) god in reality (deserved to be worshipped)’, denies believe and worship for anything (except Allah).

Affirmation: Illallah

‘Except Allah’, affirms believe and worship for Allah alone.

The Seven conditions of the Kalima-E-Tawheed or LAA ILAHA ILLALLAH

Seven critical conditions of the Kalima-E-Tawheed (Laa ilaha illallah) which is compulsory to know as a Muslim, without which it is considered to be meaningless, are as follows:

  • Al-`Ilm(العلم): Knowledge of the meaning of the Shahadah, its negation and affirmation and its opposite is ignorance.
  • Al-Yaqeen(اليقين): Certainty – perfect knowledge of it that counteracts suspicion and doubt.
  • Al-Ikhlaas(الإخلاص): Sincerity which negates shirk(Associating partners with Allah (سبحانه و تعالى).
  • Al-Sidq(الصدق): Truthfulness that permits neither falsehood nor hypocrisy.
  • Al-Mahabbah(المحبة): Love of the Shahadah and its meaning, and being happy with it.
  • Al-Inqiad(الانقياد): Submission to its rightful requirements, which are the duties that must be performed with sincerity to Allah (سبحانه و تعالى). (alone) seeking His pleasure.
  • Al-Qubool(القبول): Acceptance that contradicts rejection.